Aaron said...
Mar 18, 2015

Great Place To Stay
5  Stars


Beach Road South, Troncones, GRO, xxxxx, Mexico (622608)
Date of Stay
March 3, 2015

We had a great time here and would recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children 

Mar 14, 2015

5  Stars

Casa Canela The "Duke"


Beach Road South, Troncones, GRO, xxxxx, Mexico (622608)

Date of Stay
February 22, 2015

The "Duke" We stayed in the "Duke" canalita. It was clean, comfortable, had ample storage, a shared kitchen and veranda. Sharing the kitchen was not an issue as it is only shared with one other canalita. The "Duke" is tastefully appointed with a surfing motif inside, and a spacious mexico flavoured veranda which takes advantage of the non-stop tropical breeze. Troncones itself has a small town feel and the locals are very friendly. Crime is not an issue in Troncones. Day or Night, Troncones is safe for all. Spontaneous ex-pat nights at "Orbes" or "Celias" with wonderful cooks and the best Margaritas, open air excellence at reasonable prices. Ask at Orbes how to find Rufies, but book ahead. The locals must book this ahead also, and they know the best. The "Duke" comes with bikes, boogie boards, shore mats and sunbrellas. I was even provided with a rod and gear for shore casting. Barbequing was easy and cool under the palms in the fire pit lounge, so my catch of the day, Correl, was enjoyed by all. The grounds are done as a flowered oasis with a variety of palms, shrubs and 2 very large shade trees. Ambiance is everything when you need to get away and relax. The "Duke" has ambiance in spades. The roar of the pounding surf is pleasantly muted, as is the crowing of the distant roosters that make this "Oh so Mexico". Lyn was a most attentive host with the inside track on all the many activities in Troncones. She is exceptionally well travelled and shared many interesting stories. Lyn even arranged an in-house massage and mani/pedi for my wife. Across the road is beach access and Roberto's Bistro. Roberto's Bistro has an outdoor shower for patrons. There was not a day that I could not boogie board. Fifteen minutes up the road by bike is Majuaha, a renowned surfing destination with a sand bay, a great place to learn. We had a wonderful stay at a very reasonable price. The only downside was the fact that we had to go home to resume our regular lives. Thank You so much Lyn and Dave From Terry and Carolyn

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Tourists without a Car,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  People with Disabilities,  Romantic Getaway 

The Duke Fabulous, totally relaxed and recharged. I'd go again in a heartbeat.”

[5 of 5 stars] 

Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in February 2015

The Duke was a charming, cozy Canelita. The owners, Lyn and Dave are fantastic people. They arranged a pedicure, manicure and massage for me. They told us about the local restaurants, and shops. They provide boogie boards, bicycles and fishing gear at no extra charge. This was a great savings, as no other place in Troncones provides this equipment without a rental fee. Fishing gear is not available anywhere in Troncones. This was a bonus to staying at the Casa Canela property. We also had access to the barbeque that goes with the place as well. Nothing like cooking your catch of the day, on the barbeque. I can't say enough about Casa Canela.


​This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


“Cute, clean and comfy Frida”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

The Frida bungalow was spacious and fresh. Lots of room for my stuff too. Always very clean. Outside porch was comfortably decked out with chairs and table. Sharing the kitchen was never a problem. No amenity left out, even had umbrella and mats for the beach


This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


5  Stars


Incredible Stay!

Casa Cenela has so much to offer--from its quiet, serene gardens to its close proximity to the beach. It's super clean with great beds. Located just across the street from the beach (with lifeguards on patrol the whole time) and Roberto's Restaurant which is also close to the turtle sanctuary. Each evening, just before dusk, people had the opportunity to dig up the baby turtle eggs, then set them free in to the ocean, while the sun set. Amazing! The shared kitchen was perfect for us and the outside dining and sitting with a hammock area was great for luxuriating. Lyn is a gracious host, making sure we were settled, offering us cold drinks on our arrival. We were able to take full advantage of her bikes, umbrella, and beach mats. We managed easily without a car. One of the biggest bonuses of Casa Canela is the opportunity to go to sleep hearing the night noises, the surf and to awake with the roosters. You're not going to be disturbed by disco music and loud partying.

Stayed: December 2014
Submitted: January 5, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway


5  Stars 

​Loved it!

Pretty and restful spot that is made for total relaxation. Our hostess made sure our stay was perfect. All of property and accommodations very well maintained and very comfortable. Shopping and eat in dining was easy. Lots of reasonably priced and terrific dining spots within walking distance. For one Rufi's restaurant provided delicious authentic food and village atmosphere. Just steps away from a long and fabulous beach. We were often the only ones walking the beach. We bought snapper and tuna straight off the boat as the fishermen came in for the evening. The entire experience was such a pleasure that we plan to get back to Casa Canela within the year.

Stayed: January 2015
Submitted: February 27, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

“Quiet, tranquil, fantastic accommodations”5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 NEW Casa Cenela has so much to offer--from its quiet, serene gardens to its close proximity to the beach. It's super clean with great beds.  Located just across the street from the beach (with lifeguards on patrol the whole time) and Roberto's Restaurant which is also close to the turtle sanctuary. Each evening, just before dusk, people had the opportunity to dig up the baby turtle eggs, then set them free in to the ocean, while the sun set. Amazing! The shared kitchen was perfect for us and the outside dining and sitting with a hammock area was great for luxuriating. Lyn is a gracious host, making sure we were settled, offering us cold drinks on our arrival. We were able to take full advantage of her bikes, umbrella, and beach mats.  One of the biggest bonuses of Casa Canela is the opportunity to go to sleep hearing the night noises, the surf and to awake with the roosters. You're not going to be disturbed by disco music and loud partying. / entry This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Reviews

Write a Review

To
​​
5  Stars 

​We had a great time! We spent Christmas with my family. We had a great time! You can get groceries at the local stores and cook yourself or go to the local restaurants Everything is so close! Casa Canela is so pretty!! You feel like home!! I recommend this place. If I ever have the opportunity to travel again to Troncones I will for sure stay again in Casa Canela. There is a lot to do around town (surfing, eating out long walks along the beach, bike rides, etc), or if you just want to stay and relax that is a good option too. The owner was so nice to us all the time, she did everything that we would feel like home. The property and the house inside are always clean and very well kept. Casa Canela has everything that you need for a pleasant and peaceful stay
Stayed: December 2014
Submitted: December 31, 2014
​Source: VRBO